All information presented below (text, banners, video) can be used freely, without Buildner' written permission, by any media, but only for purposes relating to the Modular Home Design Challenge 2021 competition.

For potential media partners who are interested in covering competition winners, please contact us at: [email protected]

[Download high resolution images and diagrams] 

The first annual Modular Home Design Challenge tasked participants with designing a modular home that could be constructed in any form, or layout, in any location. A part of the Buildner' Small Scale Architecture Appreciation Movement, winners from both the design and essay competitions will be featured in the upcoming publication from ARCHHIVE BOOKS on the topic of modular architecture.

First prize was awarded to Gabriel Chivu, Laura Mazâlu, Stefan Mircea, and Thomas Herrera from Romania. Their ‘Do It Yourself Pop Up House’ proposed a 12.2 x 2.4 x 3.15m container carrying the 35 prefabricated components that could be assembled to create the home of your choice. An adaptable and versatile solution to the brief, even the container itself is used as part of the assembled structure’s envelope, to reduce throw-away parts after transportation.

The second prize and student prize were awarded to Jessica Anand, Tiffany Chen, and Angelina Yihan Zhang from Syracuse University in the USA. Their ‘Re-Imagining Makoko’ project involved a modular floating home designed for Lagos, Nigeria self-sustained mobile pods that remain undamaged by rising sea levels while also providing desperately needed access to clean water and sewage systems. Third prize went to Yonghao Zhang and Tory Tan from Carnegie Mellon University in Canada whose proposal involved a house divided into a base module and four flexible sliding rooms that expand from both sides of the structure.

Visit to see the full jury comments and project images for all our winners, including the AAPPAREL Sustainability Award for environmentally-conscious design which went to Julia Ciężar, Matylda Wolska, and Alicja Bakalarska from the Warsaw University of Technology in Poland.

1st prize

2nd and Student prize

3rd prize